R03 Norisring - Race Preview
FIA Formula 3

21 June 2018

Foto 1 - R03 Norisring - Race Preview

PREMA Theodore Racing is set to go back to the mighty Norisring, home to the third round of the 2018 FIA Formula 3 European Championship. The fast temporary street course, located in Nuremberg and just 2.3-kilometer long, is a classic of the series as well as a famous venue for DTM touring cars. Heavy traffic and braking will be pivotal aspects for teams and drivers.

Chinese racer Guanyu Zhou will be the man on the move in Germany as he currently headlines the Prema pack with P2 in championship points. Supported by the Ferrari Driver Academy, he already scored one win this season at Pau. The other Pau winner, Ralf Aron, is looking to take his revenge after facing some struggles in the previous round at Hungaroring. Mick Schumacher will run in his native Germany for the first time this year. He is coming from a positive third place in Budapest.

Norisring is known to be quite tough on rookies. New Zealander Marcus Armstrong and Russian Robert Shwartzman, both part of the FDA program, are planning to maximize their learning and exit the weekend with the highest possible amount of points.

René Rosin - Team Principal
“It is great to be on-track at Norisring. It’s such a unique and challenging circuit. It is also really unforgiving so it’s critical to do everything right from the very beginning, both driving and engineering-wise.  For the drivers, this will be the second street course in three races, so especially for rookies, it will be particularly tricky. Anyway, we got wins here last year and in 2016 so we know what it takes and we are looking forward to putting our experience to fruition."

Weekend Timetable

Friday, June 22nd, 2018
12:55 - Practice 1
13:40 - Practice 2
17:20 - Qualifying 1 Gr.1
17:45 - Qualifying 1 Gr.2

Saturday, June 23rd, 2018
11.10 am - Race 1
3.35pm - Qualifying 2 Gr.1
4:00 pm - Qualifying 2 Gr.2

Sunday, June 24th, 2018
10.15 am - Race 2
15:20 - Race 3

Foto 2 - R03 Norisring - Race Preview

Ravenol Sparco Brembo Koni Gullwing